House on the Hill by Gwen Selix


“I touch his face and run my fingers over his jaw. He has a five o’clock shadow lining his jaw. I gently run my fingers over it; the sensation is soothing. Everything in me is screaming. I want him. I want Dante. My heart is screaming a different tune. Telling me to be guarded, the whole head and heart war is something I thought only existed in novels. But right now, in this moment, I don’t care what either says. I want to take his pain away. I see it in his eyes; it’s still killing him. The girls they’re over their pain, they’ve found happiness. But Dante he’s like me. He’s still fighting his Monster. He could be in league with mine. But right now that doesn’t even matter. I want to take his pain away. I want him to be happy even if I’m not sure what happy is.”
*Trigger Warnings* Though young adult this book is recommended for 16+ This book deals with suicide attempts and tough home lives.

Leave a Reply

